West Wendover: Eine andere Welt betreten

There is a place in West Wendover, Nevada that on a clear day, you can see the curvature of the earth. Think about that.  Called the Horizon Viewpoint, it is unlike any view you can find in the Rocky Mountain west. Looking out from the southeast, the magnitude of the view is as unique as the city of West Wendover itself.  Which means one thing: If you are on the Great American Roadtrip, West Wendover is one of those uncommon stops that makes destination travel so rewarding.
Prepared By:

David Rule

World Explorer, Photographer & Videographer

Dieser Text wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit West Wendover City, Nevada, erstellt.

Diese Gemeinde ist das Tor zu den Bonneville Salt Flats, aber es bietet noch so viel mehr. Es gibt eine aufregende Anzahl von Aktivitäten in der Innenstadt, ländliche Erholung und Naturwunder. Etwa sieben Stunden von Yellowstone und Yosemite entfernt, ist West Wendover ein perfekter Zwischenstopp zwischen diesen beiden Parks. Wenn ihr wirklich erleben wollt, was Nevada zu bieten hat, kann ich an keinen besseren Ort als West Wendover denken.

Bonneville Salt Flats

In West Wendover war das erste, was ich tun wollte, auf die glitzernde Oberfläche der Bonneville Salt Flats zu gehen. Ich weiß nicht, wie es wäre, auf dem Mond zu gehen, aber nachdem ich auf den Bonneville Salt Flats herumgelaufen bin, habe ich das Gefühl, eine ziemlich gute Idee davon zu haben. Die Texturen, die 4 Meilen östlich liegen, ähneln Mondkratern, und das Salz bildet eine harte Kruste auf der Oberfläche. Es ist unwirklich und tiefgründig. Es ist anders als alles, was ich jemals auf dem Planeten gesehen habe. Als Fotograf habe ich Hunderte von Sonnenaufgängen gesehen, aber keiner von ihnen sah jemals so aus wie der, den ich hier sah. Zusammen mit der Schönheit der Flats kann man sich auch eines der Rennen ansehen, die hier ausgetragen werden. Rennwagen und Motorräder treten regelmäßig auf der Rennstrecke gegeneinander an, um Geschwindigkeitsrekorde zu brechen.

Kürzlich, während der Utah Salt Flats Racing Association World of Speed, wurde der radgetriebene Landgeschwindigkeitsrekord gebrochen. Wie schnell muss man sein, um den Rekord zu brechen? 483 m.p.h. (also ca. 777km/h). Das ist die Entfernung von zwei Fußballfeldern in einer Sekunde. Und das kann nur hier passieren.

Eine Nacht auf den Straßen

Ein anderer Aspekt von West Wendover, der es von den meisten Städten unterscheidet, ist die einzigartige Architektur und Kultur. Wenn ihr von den Flats aus in die Stadt kommt, seht ihr als Erstes eine große gläserne Brücke über der Straße. Diese Skybridge verbindet zwei verschiedene Casinos und ist ein Muss für jeden. Es ist ein ungewöhnliches Stück Architektur, und die Erfahrung, so hoch über die belebte Straße zu gehen, ist nur ein weiteres Beispiel dafür, was diese Stadt so besuchenswert macht.


Wenn ihr aus der anderen Richtung kommt, ist Wendover Will bereit, euch in der Stadt zu begrüßen. Dieser freundliche Riese ist unglaublich einzigartig und ist ein großartiger Ort, um anzuhalten und ein Foto zu machen. Er gilt nicht nur als West Wendover-Ikone, sondern eine „Nevada State Ikone und eine Ikone für viele Menschen aus der ganzen Welt“. Die Stadt von West Wendover hat eine Webseite, auf der Besucher, die unter seinem freundlichen Winken entlanggefahren sind, angehalten haben und Bilder von diesem einzigartigen Beispiel der Amerikana gemacht haben. Habt ihr ein Selfie mit Wendover Will, das ihr gerne mit der Welt teilen möchtet? Dann schaut euch die Seite an.


Einer der ereignisreichsten Orte der Stadt ist die Peppermill Concert Hall. Die Halle bietet regelmäßig einer Vielzahl von Künstlern eine Bühne. Das Schöne am Konzertsaal ist, dass jeder Platz im Haus … der beste Platz im Haus ist. Jeder Sitzplatz befindet sich innerhalb von 88 Fuß (ca. 26 m) von der Bühne. In der Konzerthalle spielen außergewöhnliche Talente aus der ganzen Welt. Von Tracey Lawerence zu The Temptations und zu The Fab Four Beatles Tribute-Band, spielten hier schon viele. In der Nacht, in der ich in der Stadt war, trat der berühmte Komiker Gabriel Iglesias auf!

Berge und Luftfahrt

Ein weiterer toller Zwischenstopp in West Wendover ist der Wendover Historic Airfield. Ihr könnt euch das Museum ansehen, auf einen Kontrollturm des Zweiten Weltkrieges klettern oder eine Führung über den gesamten Flugplatz machen. Ich hatte auch Spaß dabei, das Innere eines C-124 Transportflugzeugs zu erforschen, das in Con Air benutzt wurde.

In derselben Richtung findest du die Straße, die zu den Goshute Mountains führt. Diese Berge sind voll von tollen Trails, wie zum Beispiel die Wanderung hoch auf den Goshute Peak. Die Goshute Mountains sind auch die Heimat einer der größten Falkenwanderrouten der Nation. Goshute Mountains Hawk Watch ist eine bekannte und beliebte Wanderungsstätte mit hunderten von Besuchern jeden Herbst.

Dieser Ort ist nicht nur für Besucher geöffnet, denn es wird zur Teilnahme aufgefordert, wandernde Raubvögel zu zählen, während sie über die Köpfe hinwegfliegen. Eine Vielzahl von Raubvögeln von Geiern, Adlern, Habichten und Falken passieren diesen Ort. Die besten Zeiten für einen Besuch sind Mitte August bis November, wenn die Raubvögel in wärmere Gebiete weiter südlich wandern.

Ein verstecktes Juwel

West Wendover ist sicherlich ein verstecktes Juwel von Nord-Nevada. Egal, was euer Interesse weckt, ihr werdet in dieser Stadt kein Problem haben, etwas Unglaubliches zu finden. Ihr habt hier alles von Weltklassekonzerten, einer Vielzahl von Festivals, die Möglichkeit, Fahrzeuge zu sehen, die den Landgeschwindigkeitsrekord brechen, bis hin zu einer der wichtigsten Migrationsstellen für Raubvögel auf den Kontinentalen Vereinigten Staaten. Ich wünschte, ich hätte mehr Zeit damit verbringen können, dieses Gebiet zu erkunden. Aber das ist das Großartige an West Wendover, man fühlt sich immer wie zu Hause. Und Wendover Will ist immer bereit, euch wieder zu begrüßen.

Other Places & Experiences

Pin It on Pinterest

Share Your Adventure

West Wendover: Stepping into another world

There is a place in West Wendover, Nevada that on a clear day, you can see the curvature of the earth. Think about that.  Called the Horizon Viewpoint, it is unlike any view you can find in the Rocky Mountain west. Looking out from the southeast, the magnitude of the view is as unique as the city of West Wendover itself.  Which means one thing: If you are on the Great American Roadtrip, West Wendover is one of those uncommon stops that makes destination travel so rewarding.
Prepared By:

David Rule

World Explorer, Photographer & Videographer

This story has been created in partnership with West Wendover City, Nevada.

This community is the gateway to the Bonneville Salt Flats, but it provides so much more. There is an exciting array of downtown activities, rural recreation, and natural wonders. About seven hours from both Yellowstone and Yosemite, West Wendover is a perfect stop when traveling between these two parks. If you want to truly experience what Nevada has to offer,  I can think of no better place than West Wendover.

Bonneville Salt Flats

In West Wendover, the first thing I wanted to do was walk out onto the glistening  surface of the Bonneville Salt Flats. I don’t know what it would be like to walk on the moon. After walking on the Bonneville Salt Flats, I feel like I have a pretty good idea. Located 4 miles to the east, the textures resemble lunar craters, and the salt forms a hard crust on the surface.  It is surreal and profound.  It is unlike anything I’ve ever seen on the planet. As a photographer, I’ve witnessed hundreds of sunrises, yet none of them have ever looked anything like the one I saw here. Along with admiring the sheer beauty of the flats, you might just catch one of the races that are held out here. Race cars and motorcycles regularly compete on the speedway to attempt to break land speed records.

Recently, during the Utah Salt Flats Racing Association World Of Speed, the wheel driven land speed record was broken. How fast do you have to go to break the record? 483 m.p.h.  That’s the distance of two football fields in a second. And it can only happen here.

A Night on the Streets

Another aspect of West Wendover that makes it stand out from most towns is the unique architecture and culture. When coming into town from the flats, the first thing you’ll see is a big glass bridge over the road. This skybridge connects two different casinos and is a must see for anyone. It is an uncommon piece of architecture, and the experience  of walking so far above the busy street is just another example of what makes this town so worth a visit.


When entering from the other direction, Wendover Will is ready to greet you into town. This friendly giant is incredibly unique and makes for a great place to stop and take a picture. Billed as not just a West Wendover icon, but a “Nevada State icon and an icon to many people from around the world”.  The City of West Wendover hosts a webpage where visitors who have passed beneath his friendly wave have stopped and taken pictures of this one-of-a kind example 0f Americana. Have a selfie with Wendover Will you would like to share with the world? Check out the page.


One of the most eventful spots in town is the Peppermill Concert Hall. The hall regularly hosts a diverse array of performers. The great thing about the concert hall is that every seat in the house…is the best seat in the house. Every seat is within 88 feet of the stage. The concert hall brings in exceptional talent from all over the world. The hall hosts everything from Tracey Lawerence to The Temptations to The Fab Four Beatles tribute band. The night I was in town, famous comedian Gabriel Iglesias was performing!

Mountains and Aviation

Another awesome stop in West Wendover is the Wendover Historic Airfield. You’ll be able to see the museum, climb to the top of a World War 2 control tower, or take a guided tour of the entire airfield. I also had fun exploring the inside of a C-124 transport plane that was used in Con Air.


In this same direction, you’ll find the road leading out to the Goshute Mountains. These mountains are full of fun trails, such as the hike up Goshute Peak. The Goshute Mountains are also home of one of the largest hawk migration routes in the nation. Goshute Mountains Hawk Watch is a well-known and popular migration site with hundreds of people visiting each fall. The site is not only open to visitors, participation is encouraged to help count migratory raptors as they pass overhead. A variety of raptors from Vulture, Eagles, Hawks and Falcons pass this site. The best times to visit are mid-august through November as the raptors migrate to warmer climes further south.

A Hidden Gem

West Wendover is certainly a hidden gem of northern Nevada. No matter what catches your interest, you’ll have no problem finding something incredible in this town. They have everything from world class concerts, a myriad of festivals, the chance to see vehicles break the land speed record to one of the most important migratory sites for raptors in the lower 48. I wish I could have spent more time exploring this area. But that’s the great thing about West Wendover, you’re always made to feel like you’re home. And Wendover Will is always ready to welcome you back.

Other Places & Experiences

Pin It on Pinterest

Share Your Adventure